Site Logo

太極學院

申請入學要求如下:美國教育部核准美國大學所頒發或相等的學士學位或更高學歷,有能力執行太極肢體風格,一份來自學術界顧問推薦信,以及一封來自登記有案的國術指導專家。

一般入學政策

根據1964年民權法案第五條,1972年教育修正法案第九條,1973年康復法案第五條,以及1975年年齡歧視法,國際醫藥大學接受所有合格申請,無論年齡、性傾向、信仰、國家種族、信條、婚姻狀況、心裡限制、殘疾或種族。所有申請人必須提交完整的正式成績單或者所有高等院校就學的教育記錄。否則可能會導致延遲入學或者喪失學術信用。本校接收國內以及國際有能力完成國際醫藥大學學術計劃的學生。申請人的動機和興趣也將被考慮其學術上的成功。

初步入學要求

申請人必須提供以下材料:

  • 完整的入學申請表
  • 以前所有學術工作證據:上課前直接將所有正規成績單送到大學招生辦公室
  • 不可退換的$100申請費
  • 兩封推薦信

與招生辦或者學術事務主任一次非正式面談。如果申請人居住在美國加州之外,可以選擇電話採訪或者與學校校友會成員進行面談。

一旦錄用,學生無法自動註冊課程。其他詳細入學要求或先決條件也許被使用。

英語能力要求

學生必須提交託福考試成績,500分以上以及TSE的平均得分證明英語水平,否則學生必須完成由美國教育局認可全職英語教課的教育機構提供的為期兩年(60個學分或者90個學分)或者國外教育機構提供英語授課。不符合的申請人,可能被認為英語為第二語言,但是必須在第二學期前符合英語能力要求。

一般教育與入學要求

申請人必須表現出強烈的學習動機,並且具備必要的成熟性,求知慾望,同情和承諾的綜合性。 碩士課程入學要求以下內容:學士學位或者相當於一個美國教育部認可的美國大學或者大學的高等教育,一個能夠執行的短期形式的太極風格,一個學術顧問的推薦信,一封東方武術教練的推薦信。申請人平均分數必須在2.3以上。

在此之前學習的大學學分

每個准許入學的學生最多可以得到15學分的信用,方法如下:

  • CLEP 考試(大學水平考試)
  • DANTES考試(非教育支援防禦能力)
  • 美國大學考試PEP(資格考試)

除去基本課程,以上學分必須有正式成績單以茲證明。

轉校生

轉校生必須符合上面提到的入學要求。入學時,以前學校的學分將被教務主任根據以前課程,課時等進行評估。學生提交的以前課程文件的準確性決定評估的準確性,而且所有文件必須從之前學校直接發送給本校。轉校學分的評估和驗收,可根據獲准的加州針灸局、ACAOM認可的或者地區認可的機構批准的教育機構的課程。凡轉校課程必須是類似的主題和內容,成績不能低於B。綜上所述,學生申請轉校學分,可能需要才去挑戰考試順利通過,每次考試收取管理費用$200。

對於國際醫大學年制合格的轉校學分

在固定的時間內完成學位課程,學校教務處之前承認的轉校學分將全部使用。但是超過四年的學分將可能不被認同,五年以及五年以上的學分將不被接受。

國際留學生

與上面合格轉校學分要求相同。在固定的時間內完成學位課程,學校教務處之前承認的轉校學分將全部使用。但是超過四年的學分將可能不被認同,五年以及五年以上的學分將不被接受。

英語能力

美國國際醫大太極學院提供英語教學。來自于非英語為主要語言教學為的學生必須證明在臨床實習計劃實現前的官方托福成績必須達到500分或更高以及平均 TSE(英語口語測試)。入院時,外國留學生需要經過學校進行的英語水平測試與評估。英語困難的學生可能會被要求參加英語作為第二語言課程在當地的成人教育課程,社區學院或私立語言學校提供。這些ESL課程的費用由學生自行承擔的。

大學預科

國際醫大每學期接納新的學生。所有學生必須每學期註冊課程以符合令人滿意的學術進步(SAP)的要求。所有的學生都強烈建議每學期至少與教務主任進行一次面談,以確保在註冊期間達到令人滿意的學術進展的要求。所有學生入學前都必須完成基礎教育從而入讀碩士學位課程。

全職和半職學生

一個學期的修習十二個學分或以上的學生被歸類為全職學生。學生修習六個學分到十一個學分被認為是半職學生。然而,半職學生必須修習最少六個學分,每學期學生按照聯邦法律和國際醫大規定的學業平均學分保持令人滿意的學業進步(SAP)的規定。根據要求,如果有的話學生可以有資格獲得加速學習計劃,最小長度為兩個學期,其中必須包括所有的學分。

畢業時限

入學開始,所有學生可以通過以下方法完成碩士學位:

  • 加速學習: 學生可以在兩個學期內完成碩士太極學位。平均第一個學期修習十五個學分,另外一個學期修習十六個學分。學生不可以在少於兩個學期或者一個學年的學習情況下畢業。
  • 一般學習: 學生可以在三個學期完成碩士太極學位。平均每個學期十二個學分。如果不這樣做會導致不符合大學的調節令人滿意的學習進度(SAP)。
  • 擴展學習: 任何學生完成碩士太極程序所允許的最長時間是六個學期或三年。學生必須保持每年兩個學期,每個學期平均6個學分以滿足大學條例的令人滿意的學術進步條例(SAP)要求。

令人滿意的學習進度(SAP)

SAP適用於所有在校學生,以確保所有需要的教育課程在一個特定的時間內成功完成。以便及時從大學畢業的學生在任何時候都保持在令人滿意的學習進度(SAP)的標準。如果不能維持SAP可能會導致大學學術緩行以致最終退學。學生的手冊和國際醫大的政策和法規手冊中可以找到詳細的SAP規定。

居港規定

在國際醫大獲得學位,學生必須已經在大學最少完成一個全職學期,並且完成十六個學分的學習或者轉校學分。

遲到註冊

現在的學生沒有在註冊登記的最後一天註冊課程,可以在新學期的前三週註冊並且繳納遲到註冊報名費150美元。不鼓勵學生在新學期第二周才註冊。第二周沒有註冊或添加註冊課程需要經過教師和教務主任授權許可。請假缺席或退出狀態返回的學生允許在新學期的第二個星期的星期三之前註冊報名,並且無需支付逾期報名費。

註冊協議

學生的入學合同或協議將不會成為有效和有約束力的,直到學生首次訪問或參加第一堂課。我們鼓勵所有學生在開學前參觀校園設施,詢問有關的程序問題,並關注其他與學校有關的信息,這些都有可能影響學生是否就讀。詳細內容請參閱招生協議。

加課和退課

每學期第二週的星期三,允許退掉不多於兩堂課。可能會增加同等數量的課程,而不用接受懲罰或罰款(財務或出席)。學生必須遵守令人滿意的學習進度(SAP)的規定所要求的國際醫大的監管和聯邦法律。除了在緊急情況下,將不允許第二個星期后添加課程。緊急情況下將允許不完整的成績。退掉課程對於接受聯邦補助的學生在獲得財政援助方面危及他們的資格地位和貸款機構的貸款延期。 (注:目前太極學生不符合聯邦學生援助計劃之內。)

審計

希望審核的一個或多個課程的申請人必須完成審核申請表,並符合所有的入學要求。代替標準的申請,他/她必須提交審核申請表。申請人必須表現出足夠的知識,從審計的過程中受益。數量有限的審核狀態的學生被允許在任何給定的課程。除了申請費,學生需要支付課程學費,註冊費及其他費用(如適用)。在校學生可以向審計類大學已經採取支付審計費用$ 50.00。記錄在審計類大學的正式成績單“審計”課程與“P”(通過)或“F”(失敗)級。經審核類不包括財政援助。經審核的類不能被轉換為學分班。如果需要信貸,學生必須採取信貸類和支付學費的類。審計課程的學費成本為信貸是一樣的。

出席與拖後

學生定期上課,並安時到達的教育計劃,保證定性和定量的參與。遲到的學生可能會破壞課堂教學,並且不便於其他學生和導師上課。經常遲到往往會導致成績低,導致不及格的分數。慣性遲到,可能會導致被強迫退課或者退學的後果。

過多的缺席被視為一個嚴重的問題。超過30%的缺席只有在導師的允許下並且考慮所有證據證明的情況下。學生請假缺席課將有一個機會彌補缺少的課程。重複無故缺席將導致學生成績低下,不及格或退課或者退學。如果學生無法上課,他/她應在情況允許下立即通知導師。如果曠課超過30%,無論缺席的原因學生必須從新註冊課程。錯過了最後3週課程的學生將收到一個“失敗”或不完整的等級,視情況而定,由教務主任和教師評價。

獨立研究

教務主任可允許學生通過自主學習完成課程的要求,如果招收的學生在最後一個學期,或者有特別需要提供特定的課程需要某個時間內畢業。獨立研究需要教務處處長批准,只有學生的GPA為3.0,可以申請此權限。 45小時的學習時間,學分被授予根據獨立研究。獨立研究的學生必須定期與指定的教師進行學習的評估,並採取適當的測驗或考試。尋求獨立研究的學生必須提交一份獨立的研究申請表,並必須符合所有適用規定或限制,並支付相應的費用。

MS Tai Chi

Admission to the Master’s Program requires the following: a bachelor’s degree or equivalent from an accredited US college or university of higher education, an ability to perform the short-form of any Tai Chi style, a letter of recommendation from an academic advisor, and a letter of recommendation from a recognized instructor in Oriental Martial arts.

General Admission Policy

In accordance with Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of Educational Amendments of 1972, Section 5 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and Age Discrimination Act of 1975, University of East-West Medicine admits all qualified applicants regardless of age, sexual preference, religion, national origin, race, creed, marital status, mental limitation, disability or ethnic origin. All applicants must submit complete, official academic transcripts or records of previous education at all higher education institution attended. Failure to comply may result in delay in enrollment at the University or loss of academic credit. The University recruits and admits domestic and international students who have demonstrated the potential to complete UEWM's academic programs successfully. Motivation and interest to succeed are considered in addition to the applicants' academic qualifications.

Preliminary Admission Requirements

Applicants for admission to University of East-West Medicine must provide the Admissions Office with the following:

  • A properly completed Application Form.
  • Evidence of all previous academic work: All official transcripts are to be sent directly to the Admissions Office of University of East-West Medicine before attending classes.
  • A non-refundable $100 Application Fee.
  • Two letters of recommendation

An informal interview is required with the Director of Academic Services or admissions staff. If the applicant lives outside of California or outside the United States, either a phone interview may be required or an interview conducted by an alumnus.

Once admitted, students may not automatically enroll in courses or programs offered. Other specific admission requirements or prerequisites may be applicable as indicated in this Catalog.

English Proficiency Requirement

Students must demonstrate English proficiency by submitting a TOEFL score of at least 500 and a mean score on the TSE, or the student must have completed a two year (60 semester or 90 semester credits) baccalaureate level education in an institution accredited by an agency recognized by the US Secretary of Education or from an equivalent educational institution in another country which is taught in the English language. Applicants who do not satisfy this requirement may be considered for admission with English as a Second Language, but must satisfy the proficiency requirement in English before beginning their second semester.

General Education And Admission Requirements

Applicants must show strong motivation and possess the maturity, desire, compassion and commitment necessary to serve in the healing arts. Admission to the Master’s Program requires the following: a bachelor’s degree or equivalent from an accredited US college or university of higher education, an ability to perform the short-form of any Tai Chi style, a letter of recommendation from an academic advisor, and a letter of recommendation from a recognized instructor in Oriental Martial arts. All applicants must have a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 2.3 to enroll.

College Credit For Prior Learning

A maximum of 15 semester units of a prospective student's admission requirements may be earned by credits based on prior learning in the following ways:

  • CLEP (College Level Examination Program) tests
  • DANTES (Defense Activity for Non Education Support) tests.
  • American College Testing PEP (Proficiency Examination Program) exams.

Except for general science courses, college units earned through the above tests/exams must be evidenced in official transcripts of the college/university administering them, or by any other official documents reflecting the units and grades.

Transfer Students

Transfer students must meet the admission requirements in effect at the time of matriculation and must comply with the same procedures as mentioned above. Upon admission, academic credits earned at other institutions will be assessed by the Director of Academic Services and be given transfer credit only upon a course-by-course evaluation for similar content and for courses closely approximating the units or instructional hours as those offered by the University. It is the responsibility of the student to seek and secure accurate course descriptions and syllabus from their previous school(s). These materials must be sent from the previous school(s) directly to the University. Evaluation and acceptance of transfer credit may be allowed for courses taken at institutions approved by the California Acupuncture Board and/or accredited by ACAOM or from regionally accredited institutions. These courses must be similar in topic and content. Credit cannot be given for courses with a grade of "D" or lower. Grades lower than "B" may not be accepted. In addition to the above, students requesting transfer credit may be required to take and successfully pass placement and or challenge exams. An administrative fee of $200 is charged for each placement or challenge exam.

Transfer Units To Qualify For UEWM Semester System

In determining the time limitation to complete the degree program, all transfer credit for previous work as granted by the Academic Office of the University shall be used. The University may not accept course work that is older than four years and will not accept work that is five years or older.

International Students

In determining the time limitation to complete the degree program, all transfer credit for previous work as granted by the Academic Office of the University shall be used. The University may not accept course work that is older than four years and will not accept work that is five years or older.

English Language Proficiency

Instruction at University of East-West Medicine in the College of Tai Chi is offered in English. Students who are non native English speakers enrolled in the Tai Chi program must demonstrate English proficiency before beginning the clinical internship program by achieving an official TOEFL score of 500 or higher and a mean score on the TSE (Test of Spoken English). Upon admission, a foreign prospective student may be assessed and tested by the Director of Academic Services for English language proficiency. Students with difficulty in English may be requested to enroll in English as a Second Language classes offered off campus at local adult education programs, the community colleges or at private language schools. The cost of these ESL programs will be borne by the student as additional costs.

Matriculation At The University

University of East-West Medicine admits new students every semester. All students must register for units each semester to comply with satisfactory academic progress (SAP) requirements. All students are strongly encouraged to meet with the Director of Academic Services at least once each semester during registration periods for academic advising and determination of Satisfactory Academic Progress. All enrolled students are required to complete General Education courses prior to admission to the Master's degree program.

Full-Time And Half-Time Students

Students carrying a semester academic load of twelve (12) units or more are classified as full-time students. Students carrying six units and up to eleven (11) units are considered half-time students. However, half-time students must carry an average academic load of six (6) units each semester to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as required by Federal law and University of East-West Medicine regulations. Upon request, a student may qualify for an accelerated program of study at a minimum length of two semesters, which must include all transfer credits, if any.

Time Limitation For Graduation

Upon enrollment, students may complete the Master's degree program in the following ways:

  • Accelerated Academic Track: In this track the students can complete the Master in Tai Chi program in two semesters by carrying an average semester academic load of fifteen (15) units one semester and sixteen (16) the other. Student cannot graduate from the University in less than two semesters or one (1) calendar year.
  • Normal Academic Track: In this track, students can complete the Master's program in three semesters by carrying an average semesterly academic load of twelve (12) units. Failure to do so will result in non-compliance with the University's regulation on Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).
  • Extended Academic Track: The maximum time allowed for any student to complete the Master's in Tai Chi program is 6 semesters or three (3) calendar years. The student must be enrolled in an average of 6 units two semesters every calendar year in order to meet the University's regulation on Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)

SAP is applied to all enrolled students to ensure successful completion of all required educational courses within a specific time period as indicated above. The standards of Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) are maintained at all times in order for students to timely graduate from the University. Failure to maintain SAP can lead to Academic Probation and eventual dismissal from the University. Details of SAP can be found in the Student's Manual and the UEWM Policy and Regulation Manual.

Residency Requirement

To receive a degree from University of East-West Medicine, a student must have been a resident of the University for a minimum period of one full time (1) semester and completed over 16 units at the University regardless of the student's transfer units.

Late Registration

Current students who have not registered by the last day of registration may enroll in courses during the first three weeks of a semester by paying a late registration fee of $150. Students are discouraged to register after the 2nd week of the semester. No enrollment or addition of any course is permitted after the 2nd week of the semester without consent from the instructor and authorization from the Director of Academic Services. Students returning from a leave of absence or withdrawal status are allowed up to Wednesday of the 2nd week of the semester to enroll in classes without paying the late registration fee.

Enrollment Agreement

The enrollment contract or agreement signed by a prospective student will not become valid and binding until the student makes an initial visit to the University or attends the first class of instruction. The University encourages all prospective students to visit prior to the first day of class for a tour of campus facilities, to ask questions about the program and to obtain other information that may affect the student's decision to enroll. See Enrollment Agreement at the end of this catalog.

Add And Drop

By Wednesday of the 2nd week of each semester, no more than two courses may be dropped. An equivalent number of courses may be added without penalty (financial or attendance). Students must comply with the Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) regulation as required by UEWM regulation and Federal law. No other course additions will be allowed after the 2nd week except under emergency circumstances that would apply in cases of incomplete grades. Improper dropping of classes by students receiving financial aid can jeopardize their eligibility status and loan deferment with lending institutions. (Note: at this time, Master's in Tai Chi Students are not eligible for Federal Student Aid.)

Auditing Classes

An applicant wishing to audit one or more courses must complete an audit application form and comply with all admission requirements. In lieu of a standard application, he/she must submit the Audit Application Form. The applicant must demonstrate sufficient knowledge to benefit from auditing the course. A limited number of students with audit status are allowed in any given class. In addition to the application fee, the student is required to pay the course tuition, a registration fee and other fees, if applicable. Enrolled students may petition to audit a class already taken earlier at the University by paying a $50.00 auditing fee. Audit classes are recorded in University official transcripts as "Audit" courses with a "P" (passing) or an "F" (failure) grade. Audited classes are not covered by financial aid. Audited classes cannot be converted to credit classes. If credit is desired, students must take the class for credit and pay the tuition for the class. The tuition cost for auditing a course is the same as taking it for credit.

Attendance / Tardiness

Students are expected to attend classes regularly and to arrive in a timely manner to assure qualitative and quantitative participation in the educational program. Students who are tardy may disrupt class instruction. This is an inconvenience to other students and to the instructor. Repeated tardiness will tend to result in lower grades. They are also contributing factors to failing grades. Chronic tardiness may result in dismissal from the class and/or from the University.

Excessive Absence is regarded as a serious issue. Excessive absence (exceeding 30% of class hours) may only be allowed by the instructor upon consideration of all the evidence justifying the absence. An excused absence merely gives the student who missed the class an opportunity to make up the work and is not an excuse from the work required. Repeated unexcused absences will result in lower grades, failing grades and/or dismissal from the class and/or the University. If a student is not able to attend classes, he/she is advised to make contact with the University immediately so that the instructor(s) can be notified. If absenteeism exceeds thirty percent (30%) of a course, the student must repeat the course regardless of the reason for the absences. Students missing the last 3 weeks of class will receive a "Failure" or incomplete grade depending on the situation as evaluated by the Director of Academic Affairs and the instructor.

INDEPENDENT STUDY

The Director of Academic Affairs may permit students to complete course requirements by means of Independent Study if a particular course needed to graduate in a timely manner is not offered during the last semester for which the student plans to enroll or if there is a special need for the course completion. Independent Study requires approval by the Director of Academic Affairs and only students with a GPA of 3.0 can apply for this privilege. Units for Independent Study are awarded based on forty-five (45) hours per unit of study time. A student on Independent Study must regularly meet with the assigned faculty for assessment of learning and to take appropriate quizzes or exams. A student seeking Independent Study must submit an Independent Study Request Form and must meet all applicable regulations or restrictions and pay the appropriate fees.